Hitting The Road

It’s been much longer than I planned, but finally, I am here to finish the posting of our journey! I hope you enjoy the rest of the updates and information about living in our camper! Now, back to your regularly scheduled programming.

Within fifty miles we realized there was a problem. That’s right, hardly out the door, and we had our panties in a rightful bunch. My husband’s truck, the one pulling our 44 foot trailer, was running hot and overheating every time we went uphill. This was concerning considering we still had 4100 miles to go, and no clear idea what the issue could be.

Part of me found this ironic and chuckled inwardly, remembering our last fiasco/adventure of transferring across country from Charleston, SC to Juneau, AK. We lost nine tires(Let me clarify: nine tires in which the bolts were sheared off and had a miraculous way of not killing us instantly because they always rolled away from the moving trailer.) on our trailer then(not the same trailer we have now, it was more of a cargo trailer.). One of those said tires sped aimlessly into the desert, unrepentant of the fact that my poor husband ran, Forrest Gump style, into the thorns and tumbleweed determined to catch it. Nearly a mile later, he caught up to the beast and slowly made his way back to where we were pulled over beside the highway.

So, here we were on another huge trip, and another huge God-sized challenge in our midst. My husband’s brows furrowed in concern as he battled trusting God and remembering the trauma of the previous transfer season’s excursion.

It was interesting that God also seemed to give me some great scriptures to encourage him. Though, I think he was doing his best to cling to his sanity, while simultaneously doing his level best to create a steel ball of tension between his shoulder blades. I simply cannot fathom the level of stress he was put under, knowing he had to safely get nine people across our great nation, all while ensuring we had fun, knowing we could have a problem that could cost us up to $8000 to remedy.

We shortened that first day and ended up staying in Gig Harbor, WA to regroup and brainstorm over the potential engine issue. What I really mean is that we stopped so he could head-butt the kitchen table, frantically search online, and consult knowledgeable friends, determined he would noodle it out! Have I mentioned I have a wickedly intelligent husband who will always find a way where there seems to be no way?

The next day, we took it very easy and had to make several stops in order to allow the engine to cool down. I prayed, a lot. We spoke with some good friends and ultimately decided to stop in Warrenton for a few days in order to get new tires and find a good mechanic(pray they wouldn’t be crooks and that my husband’s hunch was right about our specific trouble). We stayed at the absolute best KOA I think I have ever seen! It was full of great things for the kids, close to the beach, and the kindest staff I’ve ever encountered. They invited us to jump on the ‘jump pillow’ pretty much whenever we wanted rather than on the strict schedule it normally operates under. They let my kids and my nephew ride on these nifty bike/four wheelers for free all over the park(a $50 gift!). They offered us the leftovers of bacon and sausage after breakfast one morning(normally $1.50 each side item). Can I say that I felt the love of God through strangers so much through that, despite the frustrations we were encountering?

Two days later, in the afternoon, my husband went to pick up the truck. We planned to get on the road the next morning. A nearly tearful goodbye 18 hours later, we were packed and headed out of Warrenton, OR. The next few hours were tense as my husband watched his truck tuner for any signs of overheating. And, boy, it was no long before his vehicle was put under the ultimate test. We were really booking it when a school bus stopped short in front of us at the base of a huge mountain with a steady but long climb. This meant we had to start from nearly stopped, and increase speed up the hill. At the moment our vehicle started to get warmer, corresponding to my husband’s sweat that was beginning to dot his forehead, his truck’s fan and coolant system began showing that it was capable of doing its job! It was still a while before Chris could be calm about things, but I knew in my heart we were good to go!

We made it all the way to Lincoln City, OR, flew kites on the beach, got lost getting back to our RV park, laughed like crazy, and slept like crap(being next to a major town highway will do that). We are on our way out, and everything is running smoothly! Prayers for us as we continue our trip!

About jesuswithskin

I am a chaser of God, a lover of my husband, a mama to my children and a champion for my fellow mothers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment