Across The Nation, Part One: Day One; The Malespina

As a bit of a preamble, allow me to explain how this is going to go. I will be updating a few days behind. Since traveling on the ocean means that I will not have internet access very often, I will have to write on a separate program and then copy and paste. You will be reading the events approximately 2-3 days after they have actually happened. I’m sorry about the lag, but there isn’t much I can doi about this. Also, I will be posting some updates about Esteban, our little air plant who will be having some adventures too! You can read more about him here.  Have fun reading our story! And feel free to share the blog with your friends.

On Your Marks, Get Set, Go!

Snuggled up to my sleeping girls in our camper, I marveled at those last few hours in Juneau. Some dear friends opened their home to us and fed us a delicious dinner, providing not only nourishment to our bodies, but to our ‘goodbye’ weary hearts. I chuckled inwardly remembering their little one as he flopped haplessly to the floor in his valiant efforts to toddle those first tenuous steps. My children and my nephew laughed uproariously at each other, the little baby, and just generally had some good laughs as they played, frolicking around outside in the spruce pollen-rich air. My friend and I spoke about being mothers, being gentle in our words and deeds, but also acknowledging the importance of being “real and authentic” in our faith, not being afraid to be ourselves, loving others and speaking truth, and laughing at that off color joke or two.

securedownload

After a few precious hours in their home, we packed up and headed to the ferry terminal. A “Mother Mentor” and close friend came and sat with me for a time, while we waited until it was time to leave. We laughed about marriage, told some of our best embarrassing moments, had a few chuckles with hands clasped over our mouths, as if someone might hear us. We prayed and hugged. I thanked her for being my friend. I am blessed to know her, and a better woman because of it.

Shortly after, the revelation that our decision to put our children and my nephew to bed for a few hours prior to departure was wise, because it helped them go back to sleep better once we boarded that ship in the dark of night. And dark, it truly was; looking at the clock and reading roughly 2am as I carried a drowsy 2.5 year old, with a train of little ducklings behind me, I was thankful for the ferry terminal lights to guide the way. With photo ID and ticket in hand, we made our way down the cement pathway onto the boat. We greeted the smiling deckhands, and easily found our way to the elevator that would take us to the purser’s desk. No more time for tearful goodbyes, or thinking about what I would leave behind. It’s amazing how as parents, we are able to focus on the task at hand and set aside our feelings, no matter how deeply we may be hurting. Truth be told though, there was a parting in my heart from this beautiful city that was seamless. I felt that as I breathed out my weary breath, watching the fog escape my lips, I let go of every fear of the unknown and every painful so-long. Each moment thereafter was the beginning of our new chapter.

We are slowly pulling into Sitka as we speak. It’s time I head out to the pier! I have a friend to hug, and another Alaskan good-bye to make. More to read in Day Two of this journey next time!

About jesuswithskin

I am a chaser of God, a lover of my husband, a mama to my children and a champion for my fellow mothers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Across The Nation, Part One: Day One; The Malespina

  1. Cathy says:

    it can be amazing when God lets you move seamlessly to the new part of your life. Not that most are as tranquil as that- but Jesus can calm the storms and make smooth passage- and we get a peace that passes understanding. I have had it happen a time or two and it is almost surreal.

Leave a comment