Life of a Sardine: Living in An Adjoined Hotel Room With A Bunch of Mammyhackers

It would seem that hotel living, particularly with an adjoined room, would be preferable than squishing ourselves into our infinitesimally small fifth wheel camper.  Allow me to expound on a few reasons why my camper currently is my favorite.  I think you’ll see why:

Exhibit A:

Image

 

Notice the three lumps of flesh that are immobile on the beds.  They are disheveled creatures who are slowly liquefying their brains via cable television.  I know, I know; I should have wonderfully educational, hands-on activities like underwater basket-weaving for them to be doing whilst we wait for the day the ferry would allow us passage.  The reality is that I clearly have done nothing other than eat, see friends, and walk around at parks. Then, only to find ourselves vegging out on these comfy beds at the end of each day, dying slowly due to our brain juices evaporating and seeping from our eye holes, nostrils and ear canals.  Strangely i do not have any guilt over this.  Must be evaporating brains.

Exhibit B:

Image

 

My youngest child has spent her time doing her level best to destroy any sense of inner peace I have.  She delights in terrifying me by going up and down the elevator without my knowledge as she sneaks out with her oldest brother.  Those buttons are so tantalizing.

I have used every trick in the book, and have manged to keep her in the hotel room unable to exit, finally!  Never mind the death trap windows they have here, that when opened, the screens only require a gentle nudge to fall to the ground 30 feet below.  Those things, really, those stupid windows.  They are killing me!

All joking aside, it’s really not that bad.  As long as we keep busy, everyone has been able to enjoy themselves.  It helps that I have the best friends in known universe making things so much better on us.  Many of them have made meals, opened their homes to us to visit, have a few more play-dates and loved on our family in this season of goodbye.  Just a few more days before we actually leave Juneau.  Continue to pray for us as we wade through these troubled waters, saying farewell, and moving forward!

About jesuswithskin

I am a chaser of God, a lover of my husband, a mama to my children and a champion for my fellow mothers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment