Getting To Know My Nephew; AKA Mini-Me

For those that do not know, this is not our family’s first trip across country.  This is our fourth cross country trek to be exact.  We have also had the pleasure of having my in-laws for the ride two of those times.  This trip, however, is unique.  This trip, not only do I get to have my amazing in-laws with us, but, I also get my oldest nephew!  This has made for some very interesting times!  It boggles my mind how a child could remind me so much of myself.  Or should I say, he is just like his daddy!  And that is a compliment, because my brother-in-law is quite possibly the funniest man alive!

I think the moment I saw this 11 year old dancing around like a lunatic around a hapless and completely unaware Maritime Festival fully costumed worker, I knew we might be kindred spirits!  Who else would think to walk like a chicken, complete with convincing squawks for a quarter of a mile back to the parking deck and our vehicles?  And of course, going to a new church, knowing no one, why wouldn’t you put on the cheeky sunglasses they offer you and pretend to be a spy for the show they were putting on for the main sanctuary?  It’s a kid after my own heart!

This morning was exceptionally special.  I had to go to church early in order to practice for my last  worship set with our church team.  I asked who wanted to go early to get breakfast at the church, and he and my 6 year old daughter replied quickly(food is generally a very convincing).  After a quick breakfast, I headed over to the sanctuary to practice, telling my daughter to bring the both of them over when they were done.

As I was singing, they walked in and sat on the front row.  My nephew sat right there, listening and loving it.  I signaled to him to see if he would like to come up and sing with the band too.  He was feeling shy, so I did not ask again.  But, those little eyes and ears were attentively listening and watching.  When practice was over, I had a few minutes before service began, so I sat down next to him to talk to him.  You see, I noticed this young man has a love for music, singing and worship.  As someone who is called to worship, I can see that desire from a mile away!  I asked him if he played any instruments, and began conversing about his love of music.  We talked about his desire to learn drums.  I encouraged him to learn an instrument that would eventually be able to accompany him, such as piano or guitar, in addition to drums.  Knowing more than one instrument is key to understanding how a band works as a unit.  It teaches you to really listen to what is going on around you, learn how one’s voice blends with different instruments, among a myriad of other things.  Above all though, I encouraged him to pray and ask God for wisdom about how to pursue the gift that the Lord has put in him.

As he discussed his shyness, I shared my own reticence with singing publicly.  For those that know me, you may well be shocked.  I did not sing openly until I was 14, and then not on a regular basis where people could hear me well, until I was about 18.  It just took me a while to open up.  So, I know that fear of being heard.   But, I know the joy of being heard too.  When God has placed a desire to to be heard in your soul, there is no way to describe what it’s like when you step out in that gift for the first time.

What beautiful, God-fearing parents my nephew is blessed to have.  Thank you God for parents that love you, lead their children in your ways and trust the aunt and uncle to drive all over America with him in tow!

About jesuswithskin

I am a chaser of God, a lover of my husband, a mama to my children and a champion for my fellow mothers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment